Louise Plummer

Solstice teacher, Louise Plummer, answers a few questions about writing:

Why should writers consider writing nonfiction?

It requires the same skill set as writing fiction: choosing subject matter, characterization, setting, voice etc.

What’s your favorite nonfiction book?

An impossible question, but today I’ll say, David Shield’s Remote.

What are your writing habits?

I am not writing any fiction anymore and don’t plan to.  Occasionally, I do short personal essay pieces on request, but mostly I keep my blog going.  I write it in bed on my laptop.  Sometimes it’s good and sometimes it’s lame, but I have a sizeable reading audience either way.  It’s a way to know that I’m still alive.

What do you do when you aren’t writing?

Watching movies. Reading. Watercoloring.  Hanging with Tom.

Do you have any advice for aspiring authors?

Believe in yourself and your talent.  Do the work and send it off.  There is no magic dust to make this happen.

What do you know now that you wish you had known when you were starting out as a writer?

Each writing project feels like the first time.  The middle of a book is the most difficult to get through.  Beginnings are the easiest.  You’ve got to want it more than anything else.

And just for fun…salty or sweet?
Salty, definitely.  If there isn’t a tragic underpinning to comedy, then it’s just burlesque.  Life is a tragedy with a really bad ending.  That alone makes me laugh until snot comes out of my nose.

 

Thank you, Louise!

You can sign up for Louise Plummer’s Memoir class by going to http://www.highvalleyarts.org/solstice

Leave a Reply

